DePaJa

The Creative Librarian

May the God who…

May the God who gives endurance and encouragement give you the same attitude of mind toward each other that Christ Jesus had, so that with one mind and one voice you may glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. Romans 15:5-6 NIV

I think in order for me to be completely obedient to Paul’s request here I need to take a step back and reflect on how I am towards my brothers and sisters in the Lord. Because as it says and I know it to be true, God does give me endurance and encouragement. Therefore, why shouldn’t I have an attitude like Christ Jesus. We often say to one another, “Be like Jesus.” 

I recently lost a close relative and as a result of that loss I’m left thinking what could I have done for her to make her journey from this life to the next more pleasant. She was in a situation of ill health and a failing marriage with no one to turn to for intervention. I know this because I often heard the other side of the story but never her side. 

I keep thinking, what if I had heard her side of the story? Better yet, how could I have encouraged her while she still lived. Seems that hers was such a hopeless situation, but had I been there for her, could I have changed that? Could I have led her closer to God’s endurance and encouragement? Yes, this charge from God’s word gives me so much to think about and regrets that I don’t want to have.

At this point I can only pray for her soul, the care of her offspring, and the conscious of her tormentors. For me, however, going forward, I am reminded that I have a calling and a purpose to have the same mind and attitude that Christ Jesus had.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

